In 1585 ad 1587 groups of colonists from Great Britain were sent to Roanoke Island by Sir Walter Ralegh (often misspelled “Raleigh”). However, those attempts at building settlements in the area were not successful. Nevertheless, the first child of English parents born in America was born at Roanoke Island in 1587. Her name was Virginia Dare.

After the monarchy was restored in 1660, Charles II of England took power. On March 24, 1663 he gave rewards to 8 people who tried to help him regain his power. Those people, known as Lords Proprietor, were given the land that was at that time known as Carolina. It was named for his father, Charles I. From 1663 until 1729 Carolina was a British colony. Then South Carolina and North Carolina became separate provinces.

English colonists established permanent settlements near the Chowan River and the Roanoke River in 1653. From 1663 to 1665 the area had the status of being an English proprietary colony. It was also the site of several battles, rebellions, and raids, which included: Culpepper’s Rebellion (1677), The Quaker-led Cary Rebellion (1708), The Tuscarora Indian War (1711 to 1713)

There was not much fighting in North Carolina when the American Revolution took place. However, several people from North Carolina fought in the American Revolution in other areas. During the Civil War many North Carolina residents were against slavery, but the state as a whole was on the side of the Confederacy.

The Province of North Carolina, was organized in 1712. The State of North Carolina was created as the 12th state on November 21, 1789. It has 100 Counties. The capital is Raleigh and the official state website is Select a North Carolina county to view information & records pertaining to each County