Wyoming Genealogy
Guide to Ancestry and Family Tree Records

A large part of what is now Wyoming was originally ceded to the United States from France. That took place when the Louisiana Purchase was made, which was in 1803. However, the western portion of Wyoming did not become part of the United States until they acquired it from Great Britain, which was in 1846 as part of the Oregon Treaty. Two years after the treaty was signed, the Mexican War came to an end.

The first known white person to travel through what is now Wyoming was a fur-trapper by the name of John Colter. He passed through the Yellowstone region in 1807 and reported back about its hot springs and geysers. From 1812 to 1813, the Oregon Trail was pioneered by a man named Robert Stuart. Wyoming’s first permanent trading post was established at Fort Laramie several years later, in 1834.

Wyoming Counties – The Wyoming Territory, was organized on May 19, 1869. The State of Wyoming was created as the 15th state on July 10, 1890. It has 23 Counties. Wyoming borders Colorado, Montana, Nebraska, South Dakota, Utah and Idaho. The Wyoming State Capital is in Cheyenne and the state government website is wyoming.gov.

Select a Wyoming county to view information & records pertaining to each County

AlbanyBig HornCampbellCarbonConverseCrookFremontGoshenHot SpringsJohnsonLaramieLincolnNatronaNiobraraParkPlatteSheridanSubletteSweetwaterTetonUintaWashakieWeston

Wyoming Genealogy Record Guides