Wyoming Counties and Historical Facts

Wyoming County records vary widely from county to county in both quality and quantity. Some have been carefully preserved while others have been much abused and neglected. Some Wyoming records have simply disappeared.

For genealogists doing research in Wyoming there is no effective replace for an on-site search of county courthouse records.

Wyoming County Records

There are 23 counties that exist in Wyoming. Each one holds records that may include: Land, Estates, Taxes, Vital Records, Divorces, Naturalizations, Voter Registration, Court Records. Other records may also be included. However, other resources do need to be consulted.

Map of Wyoming Counties
  • Save

Map of Wyoming Counties

The Wyoming State Archives holds several homestead land records and territorial records for the state of Wyoming. However, county clerk offices also hold several important records, especially land records beginning at the date that the county was formed.

Probate and court records, meanwhile, can be found in the offices of the district court clerks. Although, many are also on file with the Wyoming State Archives.

Although many counties have early marriage records on file, there are no death or birth records available at the county level. Some marriage records even exist from the time before Wyoming was incorporated.

It’s always best to consult the Wyoming State Archives first. They can provide information on which records they hold and which records must be researched in specific county offices. See also a list of links to county and county seat government run websites.

List of Wyoming Extinct Counties

Wyoming has 3 counties that no longer exist because they were discontinued, renamed or merged with another county.

A lot of these counties were established and disbanded within the 19th century; county borders have changed very little since 1900.

These are important for genealogy research purposes. Pay attention where the courthouse records went to if the county was eliminated or joined with some other county.

See the History of Wyoming Counties for more details.

List of Wyoming Counties with Burned Courthouses

Wyoming burned county courthouse
  • Save

There have been no reported damage to Wyoming courthouses or major record loses.

  • None

List of Wyoming Counties

CountyDate FormedParent CountyCounty Seat
Albany1868One of the original five countiesLaramie
Big Horn1890Sheridan County, Johnson County, and Fremont CountyBasin
Campbell1911Weston County and Crook CountyGillette
Carbon1868One of the original five counties.Rawlins
Converse1888Albany County and Laramie CountyDouglas
Crook1875Laramie County and Albany CountySundance
Fremont1884Sweetwater CountyLander
Goshen1911Laramie CountyTorrington
Hot Springs1911Fremont County, Big Horn County, and Park CountyThermopolis
Johnson1875Carbon County and Sweetwater CountyBuffalo
Laramie1867One of the original five countiesCheyenne
Lincoln1911Uinta CountyKemmerer
Natrona1888Carbon CountyCasper
Niobrara1911Converse CountyLusk
Park1909Big Horn CountyCody
Platte1911Laramie CountyWheatland
Sheridan1888Johnson CountySheridan
Sublette1921Fremont County and Lincoln CountyPinedale
Sweetwater1867One of the original five countiesGreen River
Teton1921Lincoln CountyJackson
Uinta1869One of the original five countiesEvanston
Washakie1911Big Horn CountyWorland
Weston1890Crook CountyNewcastle
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save