Daniel Boone explored the region in 1767 and then founded Boonesboro in 1775, after cutting a trail through Cumberland Gap, when was known as the Wilderness Trail.

In December 31, 1776, the counties of Virginia beyond the Appalachian Mountains became known as Kentucky County (aka Kentucke County) by dividing Fincastle County. During the 3-1/2 years of Kentucky County’s existence, government seat was in Harrodstown also known as Oldtown, and later renamed Harrodsburg.

Kentucky County was abolished on June 30, 1780, when it was divided into Fayette, Jefferson, and Lincoln counties of Virginia. Eventually, the residents of Fayette, Jefferson, and Lincoln counties petitioned for a separation from Virginia. Ten constitutional conventions were held in Danville between 1784 and 1792, in the Constitution Square Courthouse . The final convention, in April 1792, was approved by the Virginia House of Delegates.

The the Kentucky Territory, was organized on May 7, 1800. The State of Kentucky was created as the 15th state on June 1, 1792. It has 120 Counties. The State of Kentucky is bordered by Illinois, Indiana, Missouri, Ohio, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia. The Kentucky State Capital is in Frankfort and the state government website is kentucky.gov.

Select a Kentucky county to view information & records pertaining to each County

Kentucky Genealogy Record Guides