McDowell County, North Carolina Records

McDowell County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on December 19, 1842 from Rutherford County and Burke County. This county was named for Joseph McDowell (1756–1801), a soldier in the American Revolutionary War who took part in the Battle of Kings Mountain.

McDowell County is bordered by Mitchell County (north), Avery County (northeast), Burke County (east), Rutherford County (south), Buncombe County (west), Yancey County (northwest).

McDowell County Cities and Towns include Marion, OldFort, WestMarion, LittleSwitzerland, Nebo, Glenwood, Pleasant Gardens. A Map of McDowell County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. There is a collection of old Ohio maps at

McDowell County Townships include Crooked Creek, Dysartsville, Glenwood, Higgins, Marion, Montford Cove, Nebo, North Cove, and Old Fort. View a Map of McDowell County Townships.

McDowell County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

McDowell County, North Carolina Courthouse
  • Save

McDowell County, NC Courthouse

The McDowell County Courthouse is located in Williamston, North Carolina. The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in McDowell county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk. Also see the McDowell County Records in the North Carolina State Archives.

McDowell County, North Carolina Census Records

McDowell County, North Carolina Vital Records

McDowell County, North Carolina Resources

McDowell County, North Carolina External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save