Clay County, North Carolina Records

Clay County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on February 20, 1861 from Cherokee County. This county was named for Henry Clay (1777–1852), statesman and orator who represented Kentucky in both the House of Representatives and Senate.

Clay County is bordered by Macon County (northeast), Rabun County, Georgia (southeast), Towns County, Georgia (south), Union County, Georgia (southwest), Cherokee County (northwest).

Clay County Cities and Towns include Hayesville. A Map of Clay County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. There is a collection of old Ohio maps at

Clay County Townships include Brasstown, Hayesville, Hiwassee, Shooting Creek, Sweetwater, Tusquittee and Warne. View a Map of Clay County Townships.

Clay County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Clay County, North Carolina Courthouse
  • Save

Clay County, NC Courthouse

The Clay County Courthouse is located in Hayesville, North Carolina. The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Clay county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk. Also see the Clay County Records in the North Carolina State Archives. The County Courthouse was destroyed in 1870 by fire, some earlier records were destroyed.

Clay County, North Carolina Census Records

Clay County, North Carolina Vital Records

Clay County, North Carolina Resources

Clay County, North Carolina External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save