Macon County, North Carolina Records

Macon County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on 1828 from Haywood County. This county was named for Nathaniel Macon (1758–1837), a member and Speaker of the United States House of Representatives.

Macon County is bordered by Swain County (north), Jackson County (east), Rabun County, Georgia (south), Clay County (southwest), Cherokee County (west), Graham County (northwest) .

Macon County Cities and Towns include Franklin, Iotla, Highlands, Scaly Mountain, Cullasaja, Peek's Creek, Otto, Aquone, Etna, Kyle, Leatherman, Rainbow Springs, Oak Grove, Prentiss, West's Mill, Gneiss. A Map of Macon County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. There is a collection of old Ohio maps at

Macon County Townships include Burningtown, Cartoogechaye, Cowee, Ellijay, Flats, Franklin, Highlands, Millshoal, Nantahala, Smithbridge,Otto, and Sugarfork. View a Map of Macon County Townships.

Macon County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Macon County, North Carolina Courthouse
  • Save

Macon County, NC Courthouse

The Macon County Courthouse is located in Marion, North Carolina. The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Macon county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk. Also see the Macon County Records in the North Carolina State Archives.

Macon County, North Carolina Census Records

Macon County, North Carolina Vital Records

Macon County, North Carolina Resources

Macon County, North Carolina External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save