Rabun County, Georgia Records

Rabun County, Georgia (Map It) was created on December 21, 1819 from Cherokee Cession of 1819. Rabun County gained land from Habersham County (1828 and 1838). Portions of Rabun County was used to create Towns County (1856). Rabun County was named in honor of William Rabun (1771 - 1819), Governor of Georgia (1817 - 19).

Rabun County is bordered by  Macon County, NC (north), Jackson County, NC (northeast), Oconee County, South Carolina (east), Habersham County (south), Towns County (west)

A Map of Rabun County, Georgia contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Rabun County, Georgia Courthouse Records

Rabun County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Save

Rabun County, GA Courthouse

The Rabun County Courthouse is located in Clayton, Georgia.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Rabun county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • History of Baker County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Rabun County Clerk of Superior Court has Land Records from 1821 and Court Records from 1829. The County Clerk of Superior Court has jurisdiction over cases for title to land and equity, felony cases, adoptions, divorces, child support and custody enforcement. The clerk also is tasked with recording deeds and maintaining the chain of title to all property in the county. Be aware that Lands were given to Georgia citizens by lotteries for the years 1820, 1821, 1827, 1832, 1832 (Gold), 1833.
  • Rabun County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1820 and Probate Records from 1826.The County Clerk of Probate Court responsibilities include legal proceedings forh Wills, Estates, Guardianships of minor children, Involuntary Committals Hearings, Issuance of Marriage License, ect.. The county probate judge's office is the office where the most valuable genealogical records are created and maintained in the state of Georgia.
  • Rabun County Tax Digests are records scanned from microfilm in the Georgia Archives.
  • Rabun County Tax Assessors Office 
  • The Rabun County Health Department can issue Birth, Marriage and Death certificates while you wait. Contact the Clerk of Superior Court for Divorce Records and the Probate Judge for Marriage Records.

Rabun County, Georgia Census Records

Rabun County, Georgia Vital Records

Rabun County, Georgia Resources

Rabun County, Georgia External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save