Habersham County, Georgia Records

Habersham County, Georgia (Map It) was created on December 15, 1818 from Cherokee Cessions of 1817 and 1819. Portions of Habersham County were used to create Cherokee County (1831), Lumpkin County (1832), White County (1857), Banks County (1858), and Stephens County (1905) . Habersham County was named in honor of Colonel Joseph Habersham (1751 - 1815), a hero of the Revolutionary War and U.S. Postmaster General in the Cabinet of George Washington.

Habersham County is bordered by  Rabun County (north), Oconee County, South Carolina (east), Stephens County (east), Banks County (south), Hall County (southwest), White County (west), Towns County

A Map of Habersham County, Georgia contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Habersham County, Georgia Courthouse Records

Habersham County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Save

Habersham County, GA Courthouse

The Habersham County Courthouse is located in Clarkesville, Georgia.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Habersham county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • History of Baker County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Habersham County Clerk of Superior Court has Land Records from 1819 and Court Records from 1819. The County Clerk of Superior Court has jurisdiction over cases for title to land and equity, felony cases, adoptions, divorces, child support and custody enforcement. The clerk also is tasked with recording deeds and maintaining the chain of title to all property in the county. Be aware that Lands were given to Georgia citizens by lotteries for the years 1820, 1821, 1827, 1832, 1832 (Gold), 1833.
  • Habersham County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1824 and Probate Records from 1819.The County Clerk of Probate Court responsibilities include legal proceedings forh Wills, Estates, Guardianships of minor children, Involuntary Committals Hearings, Issuance of Marriage License, ect.. The county probate judge's office is the office where the most valuable genealogical records are created and maintained in the state of Georgia.
  • Habersham County Tax Digests are records scanned from microfilm in the Georgia Archives.
  • Habersham County Health Department can issue Birth, Marriage and Death certificates while you wait. Contact the Clerk of Superior Court for Divorce Records and the Probate Judge for Marriage Records.

Habersham County, Georgia Census Records

Habersham County, Georgia Vital Records

Habersham County, Georgia Resources

Habersham County, Georgia External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save