Cherokee County, North Carolina Records

Cherokee County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on January 4, 1839 from Macon County. This county was named for the Cherokee Nation, an the Indian tribe who still live in the western part of the State.

Cherokee County is bordered by Graham County (northeast), Macon County (east), Clay County (southeast), Union County, Georgia (southeast), Fannin County, Georgia (southwest), Polk County, Tennessee (west), Monroe County, Tennessee (northwest) .

Cherokee County Cities and Towns include Andrews, Murphy. A Map of Cherokee County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. There is a collection of old Ohio maps at

Cherokee County Townships include Beaverdam, Hothouse, Murphy, Notla, Shoal Creek, and Valleytown. View a Map of Cherokee County Townships.

Cherokee County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Cherokee County, North Carolina Courthouse
  • Save

Cherokee County, NC Courthouse

The Cherokee County Courthouse is located in Murphy, North Carolina. The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Cherokee county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk. Also see the Cherokee County Records in the North Carolina State Archives. The County Courthouse was destroyed in 1865, 1895 and 1926 by fire

Cherokee County, North Carolina Census Records

Cherokee County, North Carolina Vital Records

Cherokee County, North Carolina Resources

Cherokee County, North Carolina External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save