Gates County, North Carolina Records

Gates County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on April 14, 1778 from Chowan County, Hertford County, and Perquimans County. This county was named for Horatio Gates (1727–1806), an American general during the Revolution at the Battle of Saratoga.

Gates County is bordered by City of Suffolk, Virginia (north), Camden County (northeast), Pasquotank County (east), Perquimans County (southeast), Chowan County (south), Hertford County (west), Southampton County, Virginia (northwest) .

Gates County Cities and Towns include Gatesville. A Map of Gates County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. There is a collection of old Ohio maps at

Gates County Townships include Gatesville, Hall, Haslett, Holly Grove, Hunters Mill, Mintonsville, and Reynoldson. View a Map of Gates County Townships.

Gates County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Gates County, North Carolina Courthouse
  • Save

Gates County, NC Courthouse

  • Save

Old Gates County Courthouse

The Gates County Courthouse is located in Gatesville, North Carolina. The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Gates county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk. Also see the Gates County Records in the North Carolina State Archives.

Gates County, North Carolina Census Records

Gates County, North Carolina Vital Records

Gates County, North Carolina Resources

Gates County, North Carolina External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save