Arizona Counties records differ extensively from county to county in either quality and quantity. Some have been very carefully maintained while others have been substantially mistreated and mistreated.

A certain amount of Arizona records have merely disappeared. For genealogists carrying out research in Arizona there’s no valuable replace for an on-site research of county courthouse records.

Each county in Arizona has a count seat located in a certain city within that county. However, sometimes the county seat has moved from one city to another. That information is historically important in order to determine migration information.

The counties pages below report all dates of court holdings, probate proceedings, and land-related cases. Sometimes later records may contain earlier records.

Territorial court cases, mining claims, and grant records for Arizona may pre-date the formation of counties. Therefore, researchers should be careful when looking for such information. See also a list of links to county and county seat government run websites.

Sometimes a city that was not actually the county seat would serve as one for a time period. However, they do not carry the records. The Arizona State Archives catalog earlier dates for some of the records.

These are usually migrated to the official offices, and sometimes earlier and later records are mixed. Contact the county recorder’s office at the county seat’s address for land records. The superior court clerk for the county handles records for marriages, divorces, and probate.

Because of mining claims, grants, and territorial court cases, many Arizona records have dates from before the county formation. You can link to public record and county information by clickin on “Accessing Arizona Public Records” on the website for the Arizona State Library, Archives, and Public Records.

List of Arizona Counties

List of Arizona Counties

CountyDate FormedParent CountyCounty Seat
Apache1879Yavapai CountySt. Johns
Cochise1881Pima CountyBisbee
Coconino1891Yavapai CountyFlagstaff
Gila1881Maricopa and Pinal CountiesGlobe
Graham1881Apache and Pima CountiesSafford
Greenlee1909Graham CountyClifton
La Paz1983Yuma CountyParker
Maricopa1871Yavapai CountyPhoenix
Mohave1864Arizona TerritoryKingman
Navajo1895Apache CountyHolbrook
Pima1864Arizona TerritoryTucson
Pinal1875Pima and Maricopa CountiesFlorence
Santa Cruz1899Pima CountyNogales
Yavapai1864Arizona TerritoryPrescott
Yuma1864Arizona TerritoryYuma