Oklahoma Counties and Historical Facts

Oklahoma County records vary widely from county to county in both quality and quantity. Some have been carefully preserved while others have been much abused and neglected. Some Oklahoma records have simply disappeared.

For genealogists doing research in Oklahoma there is no effective replace for an on-site search of county courthouse records.

Map of Oklahoma Counties
  • Save

Map of Oklahoma Counties

Oklahoma County Records

Oklahoma deeds, probates, and civil court records are located at the county clerk’s or clerk of the courts office.

Marriage records before statewide recording may be found at the county clerk as well, but records of births and deaths are not available until statewide recording began.

Official certificates come from the State Department of Health.

The largest percentage of Oklahoma’s extant public records were generated in the twentieth century and are generally intact.

Send inquiries to the county official at the courthouse address for the appropriate county. See also a list of links to county and county seat government run websites.

List of Oklahoma Extinct Counties

Kentucky has counties that no longer exist because they were discontinued, renamed or merged with another counties.

A lot of these counties were established and disbanded within the 19th century; county borders have changed very little since 1900.

These are important for genealogy research purposes. Pay attention where the courthouse records went to if the county was eliminated or joined with some other county.

See the History of Oklahoma Counties for more details.

List of Oklahoma Counties with Burned Courthouses

Oklahoma burned county courthouse
  • Save

Pennsylvania has no counties that are lost, defunct or extinct.

These are important for genealogy research purposes. See the History of Oklahoma Counties.

List of Oklahoma Counties

County Date Formed Parent County County Seat
Adair 1907 Cherokee Lands Stilwell
Alfalfa 1907 Woods County Cherokee
Atoka 1907 Choctaw Lands Atoka
Beaver 1890 Oklahoma Territory Beaver
Beckham 1907 Roger Mills County Sayre
Blaine 1892 Cheyenne, Arapaho land Watonga
Bryan 1907 Choctaw Lands Durant
Caddo 1901 Kowa, Comanche,Apache, Wichita, Caddo lands Anadarko
Canadian 1890 Oklahoma Territory El Reno
Carter 1907 Chickasaw lands Ardmore
Cherokee 1907 Tahlequah District Tahlequah
Choctaw 1907 Choctaw lands Hugo
Cimarron 1907 Beaver County Boise City
Cleveland 1890 Oklahoma Territory Norman
Coal 1907 Choctaw lands Coalgate
Comanche 1901 Kiowa County, Comanche lands Lawton
Cotton 1912 Comanche County Walters
Craig 1907 Cherokee lands Vinita
Creek 1907 Creek lands Sapulpa
Custer 1892 Cheyenne & Arapaho land opening Arapaho
Delaware 1907 Cherokee Jay
Dewey 1892 Cheyenne & Arapaho land opening Taloga
Ellis 1907 Day, Woodward Arnett
Garfield 1893 Cherokee Outlet land Enid
Garvin 1907 Chickasaw lands Pauls Valley
Grady 1907 Caddo, Comanche lands Chickasha
Grant 1893 Cherokee Outletland Medford
Greer 1886 Cherokee lands Mangum
Harmon 1909 Greer, Jackson Hollis
Harper 1907 Indian lands, Woods, Woodward Buffalo
Haskell 1907 Choctaw lands Stigler
Hughes 1907 Creek lands Holdenville
Jackson 1907 Greer County Altus
Jefferson 1907 Comanche, Chickasaw lands Waurika
Johnston 1907 Chickasaw lands Tishomingo
Kay 1893 Cherokee Outlet land Newkirk
Kingfisher 1890 Oklahoma Territory Kingfisher
Kiowa 1901 Kiowa, Comanche, Apache, Wichita, Caddo lands Hobart
Latimer 1907 Choctaw lands Wilburton
Le Flore 1907 Choctaw lands Poteau
Lincoln 1893 Oklahoma Territory Chandler
Logan 1890 Oklahoma Territory Guthrie
Love 1907 Chickasaw Territory Marietta
Major 1907 Woods County Fairview
Marshall 1907 Chickasaw lands Madill
Mayes 1907 Cherokee lands Pryor
McClain 1907 Chickasaw lands Purcell
McCurtain 1907 Choctaw lands Idabel
McIntosh 1907 Creek lans Eufaula
Murray 1907 Chickasaw lands Sulphur
Muskogee 1907 Creek lands Muskogee
Noble 1893 Cherokee Outlet land Perry
Nowata 1907 Cherokee lands Nowata
Okfuskee 1907 Creek lands Okemah
Oklahoma 1890 Oklahoma Territory Oklahoma City
Okmulgee 1907 Creek lands Okmulgee
Osage 1907 Osage lands Pawhuska
Ottawa 1907 Cherokee Nation Miami
Pawnee 1893 Cherokee Outlet land Pawnee
Payne 1890 Original County Stillwater
Pittsburg 1907 Choctaw lands McAlester
Pontotoc 1907 Chickasaw lands Ada
Pottawatomie 1891 Oklahoma Territory Shawnee
Pushmataha 1907 Choctaw lands Antlers
Roger Mills 1892 Cheyene, Araphoe land Cheyenne
Rogers 1907 Cherokee Nation Claremore
Seminole 1907 Seminole lands Wewoka
Sequoyah 1907 Cherokee lands Sallisaw
Stephens 1907 Comanche Duncan
Texas 1907 Beaver County Guymon
Tillman 1907 Comanche County Frederick
Tulsa 1907 Creek lands Tulsa
Wagoner 1907 Creek lands Wagoner
Washington 1907 Cherokee lands Bartlesville
Washita 1892 Cheyenne, Arapaho Cordell
Woods 1893 Cherokee Outlet land Alva
Woodward 1893 Cherokee Outlet land Woodward
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save