Wayne County, Tennessee Records

Wayne County, Tennessee (Map It) was created on November 24, 1817 from Hickman and Humphreys (An earlier, but separate, “Wayne County” is included in today’s Carter County and part of Johnson County. It was established in 1785 under the state of Franklin but was abolished in 1788). This Wayne County was named in honor of American Revolutionary War General "Mad" Anthony Wayne (1745–1796) .Learn More About State of Tennessee History

Wayne County is bordered by Perry County (north), Lewis County (northeast), Lawrence County (east), Lauderdale County, Alabama (south), Hardin County (west) and Decatur County (northwest) .

Wayne County Cities and Towns include Clifton, Collinwood, Waynesboro .

A Map of Wayne County, Tennessee contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Wayne County, Tennessee Courthouse Records

Wayne County, Tennessee Courthouse
  • Save

Wayne County, TN Courthouse

The Wayne County Courthouse is located in Waynesboro, Tennessee. The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Wayne county or in the Tennessee State Library & Archives. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

There was a fire at the Wayne County courthouse in 1973.

Wayne County, Tennessee Census Records

Wayne County, Tennessee Vital Records

Wayne County, Tennessee Resources

Wayne County, Tennessee External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save