Carter County, Tennessee Records

Carter County, Tennessee (Map It) was created on April 9, 1796 from Washington County. This Carter County was named in honor of Speaker of the State of Franklin senate Landon Carter (1710–1778) .Learn More About State of Tennessee History

Carter County is bordered by Sullivan County (north), Johnson County (northeast), Avery County, North Carolina (southeast), Mitchell County, North Carolina (south), Unicoi County (southwest) and Washington County (west) .

Carter County Cities and Towns include Elizabethton (county seat), Roan Mountain (south), Johnson City (west), Pine Crest (west), Central, Watauga (northwest), Hunter (northeast) .

A Map of Carter County, Tennessee contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Carter County, Tennessee Courthouse Records

Carter County, Tennessee Courthouse
  • Save

Carter County, TN Courthouse

The Carter County Courthouse is located in Elizabethton, Tennessee. The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Carter county or in the Tennessee State Library & Archives. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

Carter County, Tennessee Census Records

Carter County, Tennessee Vital Records

Carter County, Tennessee Resources

Carter County, Tennessee External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save