Knox County, Tennessee Records

Knox County, Tennessee (Map It) was created on June 11, 1792 from Greene County and Hawkins County. This Knox County was named in honor of Henry Knox (1750–1806), the first U.S. Secretary of War.

Knox County is bordered by Union County (north), Grainger County (northeast), Jefferson County (east), Sevier County (southeast), Blount County (south), Loudon County (southwest), Roane County (west) and Anderson County (northwest) .

Knox County Cities and Towns include Farragut, Knoxville .

A Map of Knox County, Tennessee contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Knox County, Tennessee Courthouse Records

Knox County, Tennessee Courthouse
  • Save

Knox County, TN Courthouse

The Knox County Courthouse is located in Knoxville, Tennessee. The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Knox county or in the Tennessee State Library & Archives. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Knox County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1792 and Probate Records from 1792.
  • Knox County Register of Deeds has Land & Deed Records from 1792.
  • Knox County Clerk of Circuit Court has Chancery Court Minutes from 1832, Circuit Court Minutes from 1844 and County  Court Minutes 1792.
  • Knox County Property Assessor has Tax Records from 1796, 1803, 1804, 1805-1812, 1826-1831, 1836, 1841-1850, 1852, 1853-1857, 1860-1870, 1873, 1874, 1876 and are located at the Tennessee State Library and Archives. Tax lists can be used to locate families, document historic properties and study community history. Early tax lists generally include all white males over 21 and indicate whether they owned land or slaves.
  • Knox County Health Department issues birth certificates and death certificates (deaths which occurred in that county within the past three years, and a few county health departments keep death records for longer periods of time).

Knox County, Tennessee Census Records

Knox County, Tennessee Vital Records

Knox County, Tennessee Resources

Knox County, Tennessee External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save