Anderson County, Tennessee Records

Anderson County, Tennessee (Map It) was created on November 6, 1801 from Knox County and Grainger County. This Anderson County was named for Joseph Anderson (1757–1837), U.S. Senator from Tennessee and first Comptroller of the U.S. Treasury.

Anderson County is bordered by  Campbell County (north), Union County (northeast), Knox County (southeast), Roane County (southwest), Morgan County (west)and Scott County (northwest).

Anderson County Cities and Towns include  Andersonville (unincorporated), Briceville (unincorporated), Claxton (unincorporated), Clinton, Fraterville (unincorporated), Lake City, Norris, Oak Ridge and Oliver Springs.

A Map of Anderson County, Tennessee contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Anderson County, Tennessee Courthouse Records

Anderson County, Tennessee Courthouse
  • Save

Anderson County, TN Courthouse

The Anderson County Courthouse is located in Clinton, Tennessee. The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Anderson county or in the Tennessee State Library & Archives. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Anderson County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1838 and Probate Records from 1830.
  • Anderson County Register of Deeds has Land & Deed Records from 1802.
  • Anderson County Clerk of Circuit Court has Chancery Court Minutes from 1836, Circuit Court Minutes from 1844 and County  Court Minutes 1811.
  • Anderson County Property Assessor has Tax Records from 1801, 1805, 1837-1842, 1855-1865 and are located at the Tennessee State Library and Archives. Tax lists can be used to locate families, document historic properties and study community history. Early tax lists generally include all white males over 21 and indicate whether they owned land or slaves.
  • Anderson County Health Department issues birth certificates and death certificates (deaths which occurred in that county within the past three years, and a few county health departments keep death records for longer periods of time).

Anderson County, Tennessee Census Records

Anderson County, Tennessee Vital Records

Anderson County, Tennessee Resources

Anderson County, Tennessee External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save