Campbell County, Tennessee Records

Campbell County, Tennessee (Map It) was created on September 11, 1806 from Anderson County and Claiborne County. This Campbell County was named in honor of Virginia House of Burgesses member Arthur Campbell (1743–1811), who was a negotiator of Indian treaties.Learn More About State of Tennessee History

Campbell County is bordered by Whitley County, Kentucky (north), Clairborne County (east), Union County (southeast), Anderson County (south), Scott County (west) and McCreary County, Kentucky (northwest) .

Campbell County Cities and Towns include Caryville, Jacksboro, Jellico and La Follette .

A Map of Campbell County, Tennessee contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Campbell County, Tennessee Courthouse Records

Campbell County, Tennessee Courthouse
  • Save

Campbell County, TN Courthouse

The Campbell County Courthouse is located in Jacksboro, Tennessee. The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Campbell county or in the Tennessee State Library & Archives. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Campbell County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1838 and Probate Records from 1806.
  • Campbell County Register of Deeds has Land & Deed Records from 1820.
  • Campbell County Clerk of Circuit Court has Chancery Court Minutes from 1842, Circuit Court Minutes from 1849 and County  Court Minutes 1839.
  • Campbell County Property Assessor has Tax Records from 1838, 1839, 1849-1866, 1876-1900 and are located at the Tennessee State Library and Archives. Tax lists can be used to locate families, document historic properties and study community history. Early tax lists generally include all white males over 21 and indicate whether they owned land or slaves.
  • Campbell County Health Department issues birth certificates and death certificates (deaths which occurred in that county within the past three years, and a few county health departments keep death records for longer periods of time).

Campbell County, Tennessee Census Records

Campbell County, Tennessee Vital Records

Campbell County, Tennessee Resources

Campbell County, Tennessee External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save