Washington County, Maryland Records

Washington County, Maryland (Map It) was created on September 6, 1776 from Frederick County. This county was named in honor of George Washington, first President of the United States..

Washington County is bordered by Fulton County, Pennsylvania (northwest), Allegany County (west), Morgan County, West Virginia (southwest), Berkeley County, West Virginia (south), Jefferson County, West Virginia (south), Loudoun County, Virginia (southeast), Frederick County (east), Franklin County, Pennsylvania (northeast).

Washington County Cities and Towns include Hagerstown (incorporated 1813), Boonsboro, Clear Spring, Funkstown, Hancock, Keedysville, Sharpsburg, Smithsburg, Williamsport.

A Map of Washington County, Maryland contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. Also view Maryland Town / Municipal Maps.

Washington County, Maryland Courthouse Records

Washington County, Maryland Courthouse
  • Save

Washington County, MD Courthouse

The Washington County Courthouse is located in Hagerstown, Maryland. Some records were lost in a courthouse fire in 1871. Learn More About State of Maryland Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Washington county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Washington County Circuit Court Clerk has Marriage Records from 1777 and Land Records from 1777. The County Circuit Court Clerk is responsible for recording documents related to property. Documents recorded consist of, but are not limited to, deeds, mortgages, restrictions, notaries, public and elected county officers. Other documents, such as Military Service Discharges, foreign birth certificates, as well as obscure documents like cattle brands, are also recorded here.
  • Washington County Register of Wills/ Orphan's Court Clerk has Probate Records from 1777. The County Register of Wills/ Orphan's Court Clerk responsibilities include supervising Clerk's office personnel in the civil, criminal, courtroom clerks, business license, marriage license, land records, and juvenile units.
  • Washington County Government Records are available in original, microfilm and digital formats from the Maryland State Archives.

Washington County, Maryland Census Records

Washington County, Maryland Vital Records

Washington County, Maryland Resources

Washington County, Maryland External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save