Jefferson County, West Virginia Records

Jefferson County, West Virginia (Map It) was created on January 8, 1801 from portions of Berkeley County. The county was named in honor of Thomas Jefferson (1743-1826), U.S. President (1801–1809).

Jefferson County is bordered by Washington County, Maryland (north), Loudoun County, Virginia (east), Clarke County, Virginia (southwest), Berkeley County (northwest).

A Map of Jefferson County, West Virginia contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Jefferson County Cities and Towns include Bakerton, Bolivar, Charles Town, Corporation of Ranson, Forrester Center, Halltown, Harpers Ferry, Kearneysville, Middleway, Millville, Ranson, Rippon, Shenandoah Junction, Shepherdstown, Summit Point

Jefferson County, West Virginia Courthouse Records

Jefferson County, West Virginia Courthouse
  • Save

Jefferson County, WV Courthouse

The Jefferson County Courthouse is located in Charles Town, West Virginia. The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Jefferson county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk. Until 1863 West Virginia was part of Virginia, See Virginia State Records for Info and links for years prior to 1863. Courthouse had a Fire in 1803, but records still exit from 1801 on.

Jefferson County, West Virginia Census Records

Jefferson County, West Virginia Vital Records

Jefferson County, West Virginia Resources

Jefferson County, West Virginia External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save