Allegany County, Maryland Records

Allegany County, Maryland (Map It) was created on December 25 1789 from Washington County. This county was named for the Lenape Indian word oolikhanna, which means "beautiful stream" ..

Allegany County is bordered by Somerset County, Pennsylvania (north), Bedford County, Pennsylvania (north), Fulton County, Pennsylvania (north), Washington County (east), Morgan County, West Virginia (south), Hampshire County, West Virginia (south), Mineral County, West Virginia (south), Garrett County (west).

Allegany County Cities and Towns include Cumberland (incorporated 1815), Frostburg (incorporated 1839), Barton (incorporated 1900), Lonaconing (incorporated 1890), Luke (incorporated 1922), Midland (incorporated 1900), Westernport (incorporated 1858) .

A Map of Allegany County, Maryland contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. Also view Maryland Town / Municipal Maps.

Allegany County, Maryland Courthouse Records

Allegany County, Maryland Courthouse
  • Save

Allegany County, MD Courthouse

The Allegany County Courthouse is located in Cumberland, Maryland. A courthouse fire in 1893 destroyed marriage records for 1791—1847 and naturalizations for 1892—1893. Learn More About State of Maryland Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Allegany county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Allegany County Circuit Court Clerk has Marriage Records from 1791 and Land Records from 1791. The County Circuit Court Clerk is responsible for recording documents related to property. Documents recorded consist of, but are not limited to, deeds, mortgages, restrictions, notaries, public and elected county officers. Other documents, such as Military Service Discharges, foreign birth certificates, as well as obscure documents like cattle brands, are also recorded here.
  • Allegany County Register of Wills/ Orphan's Court Clerk has Probate Records from 1790. The County Register of Wills/ Orphan's Court Clerk responsibilities include supervising Clerk's office personnel in the civil, criminal, courtroom clerks, business license, marriage license, land records, and juvenile units.
  • Allegany County Government Records are available in original, microfilm and digital formats from the Maryland State Archives.

Allegany County, Maryland Census Records

Allegany County, Maryland Vital Records

Allegany County, Maryland Resources

Allegany County, Maryland External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save