Frederick County, Maryland Records

Frederick County, Maryland (Map It) was created on June 10, 1748 from Prince George's and unorganized land. This county was named in honor of Frederick Calvert, 6th Baron Baltimore, final proprietor of the Maryland colony..

Frederick County is bordered by Adams County, Pennsylvania (north), Carroll County (east), Howard County (southeast), Franklin County, Pennsylvania (north), Montgomery County (south), Washington County (west), Loudoun County, Virginia (southwest).

Frederick County Cities and Towns include Brunswick (incorporated 1890), Frederick (incorporated 1816), Burkittsville (incorporated 1894), Emmitsburg (incorporated 1824), Middletown (incorporated 1833), Mount Airy (incorporated 1894), Myersville (incorporated 1904), New Market (incorporated 1878), Thurmont (incorporated 1831), Walkersville (incorporated 1892), Woodsboro (incorporated 1836), Rosemont (incorporated 1953) .

A Map of Frederick County, Maryland contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. Also view Maryland Town / Municipal Maps.

Frederick County, Maryland Courthouse Records

Frederick County, Maryland Courthouse
  • Save

Frederick County, MD Courthouse
Old Frederick County, Maryland Courthouse
  • Save

Old Frederick County, MD Courthouse

The Frederick County Courthouse is located in Frederick, Maryland. There were two major fires, but no major loss of records. Learn More About State of Maryland Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Frederick county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Frederick County Circuit Court Clerk has Marriage Records from 1748 and Land Records from 1748. The County Circuit Court Clerk is responsible for recording documents related to property. Documents recorded consist of, but are not limited to, deeds, mortgages, restrictions, notaries, public and elected county officers. Other documents, such as Military Service Discharges, foreign birth certificates, as well as obscure documents like cattle brands, are also recorded here.
  • Frederick County Register of Wills/ Orphan's Court Clerk has Probate Records from 1751. The County Register of Wills/ Orphan's Court Clerk responsibilities include supervising Clerk's office personnel in the civil, criminal, courtroom clerks, business license, marriage license, land records, and juvenile units.
  • Frederick County Government Records are available in original, microfilm and digital formats from the Maryland State Archives.

Frederick County, Maryland Census Records

Frederick County, Maryland Vital Records

Frederick County, Maryland Resources

Frederick County, Maryland External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save