Carroll County, Maryland Records

Carroll County, Maryland (Map It) was created on January 19, 1837 from Baltimore County and Frederick County. This county was named in honor of Charles Carroll of Carrollton, a representative to the Continental Congress and signatory of the Declaration of Independence..

Carroll County is bordered by York County, Pennsylvania (northeast), Baltimore County (east), Howard County (south), Frederick County (west), Adams County, Pennsylvania (northwest).

Carroll County Cities and Towns include Westminster (incorporated 1818), Taneytown (incorporated 1836), Manchester (incorporated 1834), New Windsor (incorporated 1843), Union Bridge (incorporated 1872), Hampstead (incorporated 1888), Mount Airy (incorporated 1894), Sykesville (incorporated 1904).

A Map of Carroll County, Maryland contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. Also view Maryland Town / Municipal Maps.

Carroll County, Maryland Courthouse Records

Carroll County, Maryland Courthouse
  • Save

Carroll County, MD Courthouse

The Carroll County Courthouse is located in Westminster, Maryland. Most early papers of the county court have been lost. Learn More About State of Maryland Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Carroll county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Carroll County Circuit Court Clerk has Marriage Records from 1837 and Land Records from 1837. The County Circuit Court Clerk is responsible for recording documents related to property. Documents recorded consist of, but are not limited to, deeds, mortgages, restrictions, notaries, public and elected county officers. Other documents, such as Military Service Discharges, foreign birth certificates, as well as obscure documents like cattle brands, are also recorded here.
  • Carroll County Register of Wills/ Orphan's Court Clerk has Probate Records from 1837. The County Register of Wills/ Orphan's Court Clerk responsibilities include supervising Clerk's office personnel in the civil, criminal, courtroom clerks, business license, marriage license, land records, and juvenile units.
  • Carroll County Government Records are available in original, microfilm and digital formats from the Maryland State Archives.

Carroll County, Maryland Census Records

Carroll County, Maryland Vital Records

Carroll County, Maryland Resources

Carroll County, Maryland External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save