Maury County, Tennessee Records

Maury County, Tennessee (Map It) was created on November 16, 1807 from Wilson County and Dickson County. This Maury County was named in honor of Tennessee state legislator Abram Poindexter Maury (1801–1848).

Maury County is bordered by Wilson County (north), Marshall County (east), Giles County (south), Lawrence County (southwest), Lewis County (west) and Hickman County (northwest) .

Maury County Cities and Towns include Columbia, Mount Pleasant, Spring Hill .

A Map of Maury County, Tennessee contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Maury County, Tennessee Courthouse Records

Maury County, Tennessee Courthouse
  • Save

Maury County, TN Courthouse

The Maury County Courthouse is located in Columbia, Tennessee. The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Maury county or in the Tennessee State Library & Archives. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Maury County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1808 and Probate Records from 1807.
  • Maury County Register of Deeds has Land & Deed Records from 1806.
  • Maury County Clerk of Circuit Court has Chancery Court Minutes from 1818, Circuit Court Minutes from 1810 and County  Court Minutes 1807.
  • Maury County Property Assessor has Tax Records from 1808-1818, 1824-1826, 1830-1837, 1843, 1854, 1857, 1859-1862, 1865-1878, 1883-1890, 1892-1900 and are located at the Tennessee State Library and Archives. Tax lists can be used to locate families, document historic properties and study community history. Early tax lists generally include all white males over 21 and indicate whether they owned land or slaves.
  • Maury County Health Department issues birth certificates and death certificates (deaths which occurred in that county within the past three years, and a few county health departments keep death records for longer periods of time).

Maury County, Tennessee Census Records

Maury County, Tennessee Vital Records

Maury County, Tennessee Resources

Maury County, Tennessee External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save