Wilson County, Tennessee Records

Wilson County, Tennessee (Map It) was created on October 26, 1799 from Sumner County. This Wilson County was named in honor of David Wilson, a member of the legislatures of North Carolina and the Southwest Territory.

Wilson County is bordered by Trousdale County (north), Smith County (northeast), DeKalb County (east), Cannon County (southeast), Rutherford County (south), Davidson County (west) and Sumner County (northwest) .

Wilson County Cities and Towns include Lebanon, Mount Juliet, Watertown .

A Map of Wilson County, Tennessee contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Wilson County, Tennessee Courthouse Records

Wilson County, Tennessee Courthouse
  • Save

Wilson County, TN Courthouse

The Wilson County Courthouse is located in Lebanon, Tennessee. The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Wilson county or in the Tennessee State Library & Archives. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

There was a fire at the Wilson County courthouse in 1881.

  • Wilson County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1802 and Probate Records from 1802.
  • Wilson County Register of Deeds has Land & Deed Records from 1789.
  • Wilson County Clerk of Circuit Court has Chancery Court Minutes from 1837, Circuit Court Minutes from 1810 and County  Court Minutes 1803.
  • Wilson County Property Assessor has Tax Records from 1804, 1821-1834, 1836, 1838, 1841-1846, 1851-1853, 1860, 1865-1869, 1871, 1872, 1875, 1884-1889, 1893-1900 and are located at the Tennessee State Library and Archives. Tax lists can be used to locate families, document historic properties and study community history. Early tax lists generally include all white males over 21 and indicate whether they owned land or slaves.
  • Wilson County Health Department issues birth certificates and death certificates (deaths which occurred in that county within the past three years, and a few county health departments keep death records for longer periods of time).

Wilson County, Tennessee Census Records

Wilson County, Tennessee Vital Records

Wilson County, Tennessee Resources

Wilson County, Tennessee External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save