Cannon County, Tennessee Records

Cannon County, Tennessee (Map It) was created on January 31, 1836 from Rutherford County, Smith County and Warren County. This Cannon County was named in honor of Governor of Tennessee Newton Cannon (1781–1841).Learn More About State of Tennessee History

Cannon County is bordered by DeKalb County (northeast), Warren County (east), Coffee County (south), Rutherford County (west) and Williamson County (northwest) .

Cannon County Cities and Towns include  Auburntown and Woodbury .

A Map of Cannon County, Tennessee contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Cannon County, Tennessee Courthouse Records

Cannon County, Tennessee Courthouse
  • Save

Cannon County, TN Courthouse

The Cannon County Courthouse is located in Woodbury, Tennessee. The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Cannon county or in the Tennessee State Library & Archives. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

There was a fire at the Cannon County courthouse in 1934.

  • Cannon County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1838 and Probate Records from 1836.
  • Cannon County Register of Deeds has Land & Deed Records from 1836.
  • Cannon County Clerk of Circuit Court has Chancery Court Minutes from 1840, Circuit Court Minutes from 1846 and County  Court Minutes 1836.
  • Cannon County Property Assessor has Tax Records from 1836, 1838, 1839, 1853-1856, 1875-1876, 1881-1882, 1887-1889, 1890-1892, 1895-1897, 1898-1900 and are located at the Tennessee State Library and Archives. Tax lists can be used to locate families, document historic properties and study community history. Early tax lists generally include all white males over 21 and indicate whether they owned land or slaves.
  • Cannon County Health Department issues birth certificates and death certificates (deaths which occurred in that county within the past three years, and a few county health departments keep death records for longer periods of time).

Cannon County, Tennessee Census Records

Cannon County, Tennessee Vital Records

Cannon County, Tennessee Resources

Cannon County, Tennessee External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save