Smith County, Tennessee Records

Smith County, Tennessee (Map It) was created on October 26, 1799 from Sumner County and Indian lands. This Smith County was named in honor of American Revolutionary War officer and U.S. Senator Daniel Smith (1748–1818).

Smith County is bordered by Macon County (north), Jackson County (northeast), Putnam County (east), DeKalb County (southeast), Williamson County (west) and Trousdale County (northwest) .

Smith County Cities and Towns include Carthage, Gordonsville, South Carthage .

A Map of Smith County, Tennessee contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Smith County, Tennessee Courthouse Records

Smith County, Tennessee Courthouse
  • Save

Smith County, TN Courthouse

The Smith County Courthouse is located in Carthage, Tennessee. The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Smith county or in the Tennessee State Library & Archives. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

Smith County, Tennessee Census Records

Smith County, Tennessee Vital Records

Smith County, Tennessee Resources

Smith County, Tennessee External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save