Putnam County, Tennessee Records

Putnam County, Tennessee (Map It) was created on February 2, 1842 from White County, Jackson County, Overton County, Smit Countyh and Fentress County. This Putnam County was named in honor of American Revolutionary War officer Israel Putnam (1718–1790).

Putnam County is bordered by Overton County (northeast), Cumberland County (east), White County (south), DeKalb County (southwest), Smith County (west) and Jackson County (northwest).

Putnam County Cities and Towns include Algood, Baxter, Cookeville, Monterey .

A Map of Putnam County, Tennessee contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Putnam County, Tennessee Courthouse Records

Putnam County, Tennessee Courthouse
  • Save

Putnam County, TN Courthouse

The Putnam County Courthouse is located in Cookeville, Tennessee. The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Putnam county or in the Tennessee State Library & Archives. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

There were fires at the Putnam County courthouse in the 1860s and in 1898 most early records were destroyed.

Putnam County, Tennessee Census Records

Putnam County, Tennessee Vital Records

Putnam County, Tennessee Resources

Putnam County, Tennessee External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save