Macon County, Tennessee Records

Macon County, Tennessee (Map It) was created on January 18, 1842 from Smith County and Sumner County. This Macon County was named in honor of U.S. Senator Nathaniel Macon (1758–1837).Learn More About State of Tennessee History

Macon County is bordered by Monroe County, Kentucky (northeast), Clay County (east), Jackson County (southeast), Smith County (south), Trousdale County (southwest), Sumner County (west) and Allen County, Kentucky (northwest) .

Macon County Cities and Towns include Lafayette, Red Boiling Springs .

A Map of Macon County, Tennessee contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Macon County, Tennessee Courthouse Records

Macon County, Tennessee Courthouse
  • Save

Macon County, TN Courthouse

The Macon County Courthouse is located in Lafayette, Tennessee. The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Macon county or in the Tennessee State Library & Archives. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

There were fires at the Macon County courthouse in 1860, 1901 and 1932 All records destroyed in 1901.

Macon County, Tennessee Census Records

Macon County, Tennessee Vital Records

Macon County, Tennessee Resources

Macon County, Tennessee External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save