Benton County, Tennessee Records

Benton County, Tennessee (Map It) was created on December 19, 1835 from Humphreys County. This Benton County was named for Creek War veteran David Benton (1779–1860), an early settler in the county.Learn More About State of Tennessee History

Benton County is bordered by Stewart County (northeast), Houston County (northeast), Humphreys County (east), Perry County (southeast), Decatur County (south), Carroll County (west) and Henry County (northwest).

Benton County Cities and Towns include Big Sandy and Camden.

A Map of Benton County, Tennessee contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Benton County, Tennessee Courthouse Records

Benton County, Tennessee Courthouse
  • Save

Benton County, TN Courthouse

The Benton County Courthouse is located in Camden, Tennessee. The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Benton county or in the Tennessee State Library & Archives. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Benton County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1838 and Probate Records from 1836.
  • Benton County Register of Deeds has Land & Deed Records from 1836.
  • Benton County Clerk of Circuit Court has Chancery Court Minutes from 1854, Circuit Court Minutes from 1836 and County  Court Minutes 1842.
  • Benton County Property Assessor has Tax Records from 1836-1874, 1876-1881 and are located at the Tennessee State Library and Archives. Tax lists can be used to locate families, document historic properties and study community history. Early tax lists generally include all white males over 21 and indicate whether they owned land or slaves.
  • Benton County Health Department issues birth certificates and death certificates (deaths which occurred in that county within the past three years, and a few county health departments keep death records for longer periods of time).

Benton County, Tennessee Census Records

Benton County, Tennessee Vital Records

Benton County, Tennessee Resources

Benton County, Tennessee External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save