Stearns County, Minnesota Records

Stearns County, Minnesota (Map It) was created on February 20, 1855 from Cass County, Nicollet County, Pierce County and Sibley County. The county was named in honor of Charles Thomas Stearns (1814-1888), member of the council of the territorial legislature, 1854-55.

Stearns County is bordered by Todd County (north), Morrison County (north), Benton County (east), Sherburne County (east), Wright County (southeast), Meeker County (south), Kandiyohi County (south), Pope County (west), Douglas County (northwest).

Stearns County Cities and Towns include Albany, Avon, Belgrade, Brooten, Clearwater, Cold Spring, Eden Valley, Elrosa, Freeport, Greenwald, Holdingford, Kimball, Lake Henry, Meire Grove, Melrose, New Munich, Paynesville, Richmond, Rockville, Roscoe, Sartell, Sauk Centre, Spring Hill, St. Anthony, St. Augusta, St. Cloud, St. Joseph, St. Martin, St. Rosa, St. Stephen, Waite Park.

Stearns County Townships include Albany, Ashley, Avon, Brockway, Collegeville, Crow Lake, Crow River, Eden Lake, Fair Haven, Farming, Getty, Grove, Holding, Krain, Lake George, Lake Henry, Le Sauk, Luxemburg, Lynden, Maine Prairie, Melrose, Millwood, Munson, North Fork, Oak, Paynesville, Raymond, Sauk Centre, Spring Hill, St. Joseph, St. Martin, St. Wendel, Wakefield, Zion Townships.

A Map of Stearns County, Minnesota contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Stearns County, Minnesota Courthouse Records

Stearns County, Minnesota Courthouse
  • Save

Stearns County, MN Courthouse

The Stearns County Courthouse is located in St. Cloud, Minnesota. Learn More About State of Minnesota Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Stearns county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Stearns County Recorder has Birth / Death Records from 1870, Marriage Records from 1870 and Land Records from 1855. The County Recorder is responsible for all the real estate records for properties located in the County. Permanent records of deeds, mortgages and other various real estate records are recorded/filed in this office. As Local Registrar, the office protects and issues certified copies of Birth and Death records, Marriage Certificates & Military Discharge Records.
  • Stearns County Court Administrator has Probate Records from 1859 and Court Records from 1857. The County Court Administrator maintains court files for Civil, Criminal, Traffic, Probate, Conciliation, Juvenile, Tax and Family Court matters.
  • Stearns County Treasurers Office is responsible for keeping a complete accounting of all monies collected and expended by all the county departments. This includes the investing of available funds and accurately distributing the interest received. The department is also responsible for the collection of taxes and distribution to the various taxing entities within the County.

Stearns County, Minnesota Census Records

Stearns County, Minnesota Vital Records

Stearns County, Minnesota Resources

Stearns County, Minnesota External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save