Mono County, California Records

Mono County, California (Map It) was created on April 24, 1861 primarily from Calaveras County, Fresno County, and Mariposa County . Mono County was named for Mono Lake, which, in 1852, was named for an Indian tribe that inhabited the Sierra Nevada from north of Mono Lake to Owens Lake. The tribe’s western neighbors, the Yokuts, called them monachie, meaning “fly people,” because the pupae of a fly was their chief food staple and trading article

Mono County is bordered by Inyo County (south), Fresno County (southwest), Madera County (southwest), Tuolumne County (west), Alpine County (northwest), Douglas County, Nevada (north), Lyon County, Nevada (northeast), Mineral County, Nevada (east), Esmeralda County, Nevada (southeast). .

Mono County Cities and Towns include Aspen Springs, Benton, Bridgeport, Chalfant, Coleville, Crowley Lake, June Lake, Lee Vining, Mammoth Lakes, McGee Creek, Mono City, Paradise, Sunny Slopes, Swall Meadows, Topaz, Walker .

Since its creation Mono County boundries have changed to include these:

Mono County, California Courthouse Records

Mono County, California Courthouse
  • Save

Mono County, CA Courthouse
Old Mono County, California Courthouse
  • Save

Old Mono County Courthouse

The Mono County Courthouse is located in Bridgeport, California. Land from Amador County was added in 1866. Learn More About State of California Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Courthouse History - After a survey of state boundaries, in 1863 citizens of Mono were alarmed to learn that their county seat, Aurora, lay three miles inside the Territory of Nevada. It was reported that upon hearing the news, the presiding judge immediately closed the court and announced that he would try no further cases there. Voters selected Bridgeport as the new center of government and built a landmark Italianate building that remains in use as one of the state's oldest operating courthouses. The courthouse is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research. Some early court records from the various courts may have been sent to the California State Archives. Besides court minutes and judgements, these records include tax lists, wills, deeds, estate inventories, and marriage bonds. The California State Archives has microfilm of selected county records, 1850–1919.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Mono county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk. Some counties encompass land settled in the eighteenth century; their records pre-date county formation. Land transactions and vital records recorded in the county are at the county recorder's office. The county clerk general has probate books and files from the county's superior court, civil court records, and naturalizations. Divorces may be in either place, depending on how filed.

  • Mono County Recorder-Clerk has Birth / Death Records from 1873 / 1877, Marriage Records from 1862 and Land Records from 1861. The County Recorder-Clerk is s responsible for examination and recording of all documents presented for recording that deal with establishing ownership of land in the County or as required by statute; administers the real property transfer tax law and maintains a permanent record and indexes of all documents for public viewing plus providing certified copies requested by the public; recording of all lawful documents such as deeds, deeds of trust, judgments, liens, affidavits, Uniform Commercial Code Financial Statements, etc; and the filing of Births, Deaths, and Marriages.
  • Mono County Clerk of Superior Court has Probate Records from 1864 and Court Records from 1864. The County Clerk of Superior Court has probate books and files from the county's superior court, civil court records, and naturalizations. Divorces may be here or in the Recorders Office, depending on how it was filed.
  • Mono County County Treasurer / Tax Collector
  • Local Registrar of Births and Deaths, 221 Twin Lakes Road, Bridgeport, CA 93517; Mail to: P.O. Box 476, Bridgeport, CA 93517; Office (760) 932-5580

Mono County, California Census Records

Mono County, California Vital Records

Mono County, California Resources

Mono County, California External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save