Henderson County, Tennessee Records

Henderson County, Tennessee (Map It) was created on November 7, 1821 from Chickasaw Indian lands. This Henderson County was named in honor of James Henderson, an officer of the War of 1812.

Henderson County is bordered by Carroll County (north), Decatur County (east), Hardin County (southeast), Chester County (southwest) and Madison County (west) .

Henderson County Cities and Towns include Lexington, Parkers Crossroads, Sardis .

A Map of Henderson County, Tennessee contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Henderson County, Tennessee Courthouse Records

Henderson County, Tennessee Courthouse
  • Save

Henderson County, TN Courthouse

The Henderson County Courthouse is located in Lexington, Tennessee. The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Henderson county or in the Tennessee State Library & Archives. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

Most early records have been lost because of courthouse fires in 1863 and 1895.

  • Henderson County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1893 and Probate Records from 1895.
  • Henderson County Register of Deeds has Land & Deed Records from 1856.
  • Henderson County Clerk of Circuit Court has Chancery Court Minutes from 1880, Circuit Court Minutes from 1895 and County  Court Minutes 1860.
  • Henderson County Property Assessor has Tax Records from 1836, 1837, 1895-1899 and are located at the Tennessee State Library and Archives. Tax lists can be used to locate families, document historic properties and study community history. Early tax lists generally include all white males over 21 and indicate whether they owned land or slaves.
  • Henderson County Health Department issues birth certificates and death certificates (deaths which occurred in that county within the past three years, and a few county health departments keep death records for longer periods of time).

Henderson County, Tennessee Census Records

Henderson County, Tennessee Vital Records

Henderson County, Tennessee Resources

Henderson County, Tennessee External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save