Kershaw County, South Carolina Records

Kershaw County, South Carolina (Map It) was created on 1798 from Claremont County, Fairfield County, Lancaster County, and Richland County. The county was named in honor of Joseph Kershaw, one of the county's pioneering settlers ..

Kershaw County is bordered by Lancaster County (north), Chesterfield County (northeast), Darlington County (east), Lee County (southeast), Sumter County (southeast), Richland County (southwest), Fairfield County (west).

Kershaw County Cities and Towns include Antioch, Bethune, Boykin, Camden, Cassatt, Elgin, Kershaw, Liberty Hill, Lugoff, Westville.

A Map of Kershaw County, South Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Kershaw County, South Carolina Courthouse Records

Kershaw County, South Carolina Courthouse
  • Save

Kershaw County, SC Courthouse
  • Save

Old Kershaw County Courthouse

The Kershaw County Courthouse is located in Camden, South Carolina. Learn More About State of South Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Kershaw county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

Major loss of equity records resulted from the negligence of Thomas P. Evans, commissioner in equity from 1822-1829. Records of Camden Circuit Court and Equity Circuit districts are housed in Kershaw County.

  • Kershaw County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1787. The County Register of Deeds records and maintain deeds, mortgages, plats, state and federal tax liens, mechanics liens, uniform commercial code filings, and other miscellaneous documents pertaining to real estate transactions.
  • Kershaw County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1911  and Probate Records from 1782. The County Clerk of Probate Court has original jurisdiction over actions concerning the issuance of marriage licenses, the estate of a deceased person, the will of an individual, the estate of a minor or incapacitated person, trusts, and involuntary commitments.
  • Kershaw County Clerk of Court has Court Records from 1783 and Divorce Records from since April 1949. The County Clerk of Court is divided into General Sessions and Common Pleas Court. The Circuit Court is a formal court of record.
  • Kershaw County Tax Assessor / Collector is responsible for the collection of taxes. Our office does not calculate a property’s taxable value (Assessor’s Office).
  • Kershaw County Health Department has birth and death records from 1915. Marriage records prior to 1950 are available from the Probate Court office. Divorce records since April 1949 are available from the County Clerk's office.

Kershaw County, South Carolina Census Records

Kershaw County, South Carolina Vital Records

Kershaw County, South Carolina Resources

Kershaw County, South Carolina External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save