Chesterfield County, South Carolina Records

Chesterfield County, South Carolina (Map It) was created on 1798 from Cheraws District. The county was named in honor of Philip Dormer Stanhope, 4th Earl of Chesterfield, an Enlightenment-era scholar, government official, and member of the British House of Lords..

Chesterfield County is bordered by Anson County, NC (north), Richmond County, NC (northeast), Marlboro County (east), Darlington County (southeast), Kershaw County (southwest), Lancaster County (west), Union County, NC (northwest).

Chesterfield County Cities and Towns include Cheraw, Chesterfield, Jefferson, McBee, Mount Croghan, Pageland, Patrick, Ruby.

A Map of Chesterfield County, South Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Chesterfield County, South Carolina Courthouse Records

Chesterfield County, South Carolina Courthouse
  • Save

Chesterfield County, SC Courthouse
  • Save

Old Chesterfield County Courthouse

The Chesterfield County Courthouse is located in Chesterfield, South Carolina. Learn More About State of South Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Chesterfield county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

During the Civil War, Chesterfield's courthouse records were evacuated to Columbia, South Carolina where they were destroyed by fire during Sherman's Union army occupation of that city in February 1865. Deed books have suffered heavy losses.

  • Chesterfield County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1911 and Probate Records from 1865. The County Clerk of Probate Court has original jurisdiction over actions concerning the issuance of marriage licenses, the estate of a deceased person, the will of an individual, the estate of a minor or incapacitated person, trusts, and involuntary commitments.
  • Chesterfield County County Clerk of Court / Register of Deeds has Court Records from 1861, Divorce Records from since April 1949 and Land Records from 1823. The County Clerk of Court / Register of Deeds is divided into General Sessions and Common Pleas Court. The Circuit Court is a formal court of record. It records and maintain deeds, mortgages, plats, state and federal tax liens, mechanics liens, uniform commercial code filings, and other miscellaneous documents pertaining to real estate transactions.
  • Chesterfield County Tax Assessor / Collector is responsible for the collection of taxes. Our office does not calculate a property’s taxable value (Assessor’s Office).
  • Chesterfield County Health Department has birth and death records from 1915. Marriage records prior to 1950 are available from the Probate Court office. Divorce records since April 1949 are available from the County Clerk's office.

Chesterfield County, South Carolina Census Records

Chesterfield County, South Carolina Vital Records

Chesterfield County, South Carolina Resources

Chesterfield County, South Carolina External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save