Richland County, South Carolina Records

Richland County, South Carolina (Map It) was created on 1799 from Camden District. The county was named for the county's rich soil ..

Richland County is bordered by Fairfield County (north), Kershaw County (northeast), Sumter County (east), Calhoun County (south), Lexington County (west), Newberry County (Northwest).

Richland County Cities and Towns include Arcadia Lakes, Blythewood, Cayce, Columbia, Eastover, Forest Acres, Irmo.

A Map of Richland County, South Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Richland County, South Carolina Courthouse Records

Richland County, South Carolina Courthouse
  • Save

Richland County, SC Courthouse

The Richland County Courthouse is located in Columbia, South Carolina. In searching for genealogy records be sure to check the following counties as they were created from Richland County: Kershaw County in 1791. Learn More About State of South Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Richland county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk. General William T. Sherman captured Columbia during the Civil War, and his troops burned the town on February 17, 1865. Records are fragmented. Columbia Equity Circuit District records are housed in Richland County

  • Richland County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1865. The County Register of Deeds records and maintain deeds, mortgages, plats, state and federal tax liens, mechanics liens, uniform commercial code filings, and other miscellaneous documents pertaining to real estate transactions.
  • Richland County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1911  and Probate Records from 1787. The County Clerk of Probate Court has original jurisdiction over actions concerning the issuance of marriage licenses, the estate of a deceased person, the will of an individual, the estate of a minor or incapacitated person, trusts, and involuntary commitments.
  • Richland County Clerk of Court has Court Records from 1793 and Divorce Records from since April 1949. The County Clerk of Court is divided into General Sessions and Common Pleas Court. The Circuit Court is a formal court of record.
  • Richland County Tax Assessor / Collector is responsible for the collection of taxes. Our office does not calculate a property’s taxable value (Assessor’s Office).
  • Richland County Health Department has birth and death records from 1915. Marriage records prior to 1950 are available from the Probate Court office. Divorce records since April 1949 are available from the County Clerk's office.

Richland County, South Carolina Census Records

Richland County, South Carolina Vital Records

Richland County, South Carolina Resources

Richland County, South Carolina External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save