Darlington County, South Carolina Records

Darlington County, South Carolina (Map It) was created on 1785 from Cheraws District and until 1800 it remained a part of the Cheraws District. The county was named for Darlington, England..

Darlington County is bordered by Marlboro County (northeast), Florence County (southeast), Lee County (southwest), Kershaw County (west), Chesterfield County (northwest).

Darlington County Cities and Towns include Darlington, Hartsville, Lamar, North Hartsville, Society Hill.

A Map of Darlington County, South Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Darlington County, South Carolina Courthouse Records

Darlington County, South Carolina Courthouse
  • Save

Darlington County, SC Courthouse

The Darlington County Courthouse is located in Darlington, South Carolina. Learn More About State of South Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Darlington county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

A courthouse fire on 19 March 1806 destroyed most of Darlington County's records with the exception of early probate files; this fire also destroyed the early records of the Cheraw Judicial District. The negligence of a local district ordinary also resulted in the subsequent destruction of a portion of loose probate papers.

  • Darlington County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1911  and Probate Records from 1783. The County Clerk of Probate Court has original jurisdiction over actions concerning the issuance of marriage licenses, the estate of a deceased person, the will of an individual, the estate of a minor or incapacitated person, trusts, and involuntary commitments.
  • Darlington County County Clerk of Court / Register of Deeds has Court Records from 1803, Divorce Records from since April 1949 and Land Records from 1801. The County Clerk of Court / Register of Deeds is divided into General Sessions and Common Pleas Court. The Circuit Court is a formal court of record. It records and maintain deeds, mortgages, plats, state and federal tax liens, mechanics liens, uniform commercial code filings, and other miscellaneous documents pertaining to real estate transactions.
  • Darlington County Tax Assessor / Collector is responsible for the collection of taxes. Our office does not calculate a property’s taxable value (Assessor’s Office).
  • Darlington County Health Department has birth and death records from 1915. Marriage records prior to 1950 are available from the Probate Court office. Divorce records since April 1949 are available from the County Clerk's office.

Darlington County, South Carolina Census Records

Darlington County, South Carolina Vital Records

Darlington County, South Carolina Resources

Darlington County, South Carolina External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save