Fairfield County, South Carolina Records

Fairfield County, South Carolina (Map It) was created on 1785 from part of the Camden District. The county was named for the county's fair fields, as described by colonial governor Charles Cornwallis..

Fairfield County is bordered by Chester County (north), Lancaster County (northeast), Union County (northwest), Kershaw County (east), Richland County (south), Newberry County (west).

Fairfield County Cities and Towns include Jenkinsville, Ridgeway, Winnsboro.

A Map of Fairfield County, South Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Fairfield County, South Carolina Courthouse Records

Fairfield County, South Carolina Courthouse
  • Save

Fairfield County, SC Courthouse

The Fairfield County Courthouse is located in Winnsboro, South Carolina. Learn More About State of South Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Fairfield county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Fairfield County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1911  and Probate Records from 1787. The County Clerk of Probate Court has original jurisdiction over actions concerning the issuance of marriage licenses, the estate of a deceased person, the will of an individual, the estate of a minor or incapacitated person, trusts, and involuntary commitments.
  • Fairfield County County Clerk of Court / Register of Deeds has Court Records from 1784, Divorce Records from since April 1949 and Land Records from 1785. The County Clerk of Court / Register of Deeds is divided into General Sessions and Common Pleas Court. The Circuit Court is a formal court of record. It records and maintain deeds, mortgages, plats, state and federal tax liens, mechanics liens, uniform commercial code filings, and other miscellaneous documents pertaining to real estate transactions.
  • Fairfield County Tax Assessor / Collector is responsible for the collection of taxes. Our office does not calculate a property’s taxable value (Assessor’s Office).
  • Fairfield County Health Department has birth and death records from 1915. Marriage records prior to 1950 are available from the Probate Court office. Divorce records since April 1949 are available from the County Clerk's office.

Fairfield County, South Carolina Census Records

Fairfield County, South Carolina Vital Records

Fairfield County, South Carolina Resources

Fairfield County, South Carolina External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save