Meigs County, Tennessee Records

Meigs County, Tennessee (Map It) was created on January 20, 1836 from Rhea County. This Meigs County was named in honor of Return Jonathan Meigs (1740–1823), an officer in the Continental Army who was for many years a federal Indian and military agent in Tennessee.

Meigs County is bordered by Roane County (North), McMinn County (East), Bradley County (Southeast), Hamilton County (South) and Rhea County (West) .

Meigs County Cities and Towns include Decatur, Ten Mile, Georgetown, Cottonport .

A Map of Meigs County, Tennessee contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Meigs County, Tennessee Courthouse Records

Meigs County, Tennessee Courthouse
  • Save

Meigs County, TN Courthouse

The Meigs County Courthouse is located in Decatur, Tennessee. The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Meigs county or in the Tennessee State Library & Archives. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

There were fires at the Meigs County courthouse in 1904 and 1964.

Meigs County, Tennessee Census Records

Meigs County, Tennessee Vital Records

Meigs County, Tennessee Resources

Meigs County, Tennessee External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save