Barnes County, North Dakota Records

Barnes County, North Dakota (Map It) was created on January 14, 1875 from Cass County. The county was named in honor of Dakota Territory judge Alanson H. Barnes..

Barnes County is bordered by Griggs County (north), Steele County (northeast), Cass County (east), Ransom County, LaMoure County (southwest), Stutsman County (west).

Barnes County Cities and Towns include Dazey, Fingal, Kathryn, Leal, Litchville, Nome, Oriska, Pillsbury, Rogers, Sanborn, Sibley, Tower City, Valley City, Wimbledon 

Barnes County Townships include Alta, Anderson, Ashtabula, Baldwin, Binghampton, Brimer, Cuba, Dazey, Eckelson, Edna, Ellsbury, Getchell, Grand Prairie, Green, Greenland, Hemen, Hobart, Lake Town, Mansfield, Marsh, Meadow Lake, Minnie Lake, Nelson, Noltimier, Norma, Oakhill, Oriska, Pierce, Potter, Raritan, Rogers, Rosebud, Sibley Trail, Skandia, Spring Creek, Springvale, Stewart, Svea, Thordenskjold, Uxbridge, Valley, Weimer.

A Map of Barnes County, North Dakota contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Barnes County, North Dakota Courthouse Records

Barnes County, North Dakota Courthouse
  • Save

Barnes County, ND Courthouse

The Barnes County Courthouse is located in Valley City, North Dakota. Learn More About State of North Dakota Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Barnes county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk. Some records have been transferred to the State Archives and Historical Research Library.

  • Barnes Register of Deeds / Recorder has Birth / Death Records from 1893–1910 and Land Records from 1875. The County Register of Deeds / Recorder keeps a record of each patent, deed, mortgage, bill of sale and any document related to these transactions, insuring a permanent record of property ownership; Copies of divorce records.
  • Barnes County Clerk of Courts has Marriage Records from 1882, Probate Records from 1875 and Court Records from 1875. The County Clerk of Courts responsibilities include issuing Marriage Licenses and filing of Civil, Probate, Small Claims, Criminal Cases and Child Support Court Documents.

Barnes County, North Dakota Census Records

Barnes County, North Dakota Vital Records

Barnes County, North Dakota Resources

Barnes County, North Dakota External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save