Griggs County, North Dakota Records

Griggs County, North Dakota (Map It) was created on February 18, 1881 from Foster County, Burbank County, Traill County. The county was named in honor of Alexander Griggs, a steamboat captain and founder of Grand Forks, North Dakota..

Griggs County is bordered by Nelson County (north), Steele County (east), Barnes County (south), Stutsman County (southwest), Foster County (west), Eddy County.

Griggs County Cities and Towns include Binford, Cooperstown, Hannaford.

Griggs County Townships include Addie, Ball Hill, Bartley, Broadview, Bryan, Clearfield, Cooperstown, Dover, Greenfield, Helena, Jessie, Kingsley, Lenora, Mabel, Pilot Mound, Romness, Rosendal, Sverdrup, Tyrol, Walum, Washburn, Willow.

A Map of Griggs County, North Dakota contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Griggs County, North Dakota Courthouse Records

Griggs County, North Dakota Courthouse
  • Save

Griggs County, ND Courthouse

The Griggs County Courthouse is located in Cooperstown, North Dakota. Learn More About State of North Dakota Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Griggs county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk. Some records have been transferred to the State Archives and Historical Research Library.

  • Griggs County Register of Deeds / Recorder has Land Records from 1881. The County Register of Deeds / Recorder keeps a record of each patent, deed, mortgage, bill of sale and any document related to these transactions, insuring a permanent record of property ownership; Copies of divorce records.
  • Griggs County Clerk of Courts has Marriage Records from 1883, Probate Records from 1881 and Court Records from 1881. The County Clerk of Courts responsibilities include issuing Marriage Licenses and filing of Civil, Probate, Small Claims, Criminal Cases and Child Support Court Documents.

Griggs County, North Dakota Census Records

Griggs County, North Dakota Vital Records

Griggs County, North Dakota Resources

Griggs County, North Dakota External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save