Montgomery County, Indiana Records

Montgomery County, Indiana (Map It) was created on March 1, 1823 from Wabash New Purchase. This county was named for Gen. Richard Montgomery, hero of the American Revolutionary War.

Montgomery County is bordered by  Tippecanoe County (north), Clinton County (northeast), Boone County (east), Hendricks County (southeast), Putnam County (south), Parke County (southwest), Fountain County (west).

Montgomery County Cities and Towns include  Alamo, Crawfordsville, Darlington, Ladoga, Linden, New Market, New Richmond, New Ross, Waveland, Waynetown, Wingate.

Montgomery County Townships include  Brown, Clark, Coal Creek, Franklin, Madison, Ripley, Scott, Sugar Creek, Union, Walnut, Wayne. See Map of Montgomery County Townships. has is a collection of old Indiana maps.

Montgomery County, Indiana Courthouse Records

Montgomery County, Indiana Courthouse
  • Save

Montgomery County, IN Courthouse

The Montgomery County Courthouse is located in Crawfordsville, Indiana. Learn More About State of Indiana Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Montgomery county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Montgomery County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1823, Probate Records from 1822 and Court Records from ?. The County Clerk responsiblities include administering Court Records of all Court Cases, prepares the Court's permanent historical record, performs marriage ceremonies, process marriage applications and issue marriage licenses, processes and distributes documents for court cases, and keeps a record of all wills and matters of trust in probate proceedings.
  • Montgomery County Recorder has Land Records from 1821. The County Recorder maintains, preserves and Records Deeds, Mortgages, Assignments, Releases, Powers of Attorney, Real Estate Contracts, Annexations, Trustee Elections, Affidavits, Final Decrees, Surveys, Federal Tax Liens, Mechanics Liens, Military Discharges, Articles of Incorporation, Cemetery Deeds, Bonds, Plats, Condominiums, Firms Doing Business Under Assumed Names, Delinquent Sewer Liens, and Miscellaneous Instruments.
  • Montgomery County Treasurer's Office is responsible for collecting taxes. The treasurer also receives distributions of local income and other taxes that are collected by the state such as real estate tax, personal property tax, mobile home tax, state assessed tax, and the following miscellaneous taxes: auto excise tax, inheritance tax, and innkeeper's tax.
  • Montgomery County Department of Health has Birth & Death Records from 1882. The County Department of Health maintains and provides Certified Birth and Death Records.

Montgomery County, Indiana Census Records

Montgomery County, Indiana Vital Records

Montgomery County, Indiana Resources

Montgomery County, Indiana External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save