Fountain County, Indiana Records

Fountain County, Indiana (Map It) was created on April 1, 1826 from Montgomery County and Wabash New Purchase . This county was named for Major James Fontaine, a hero of the American Revolutionary War.

Fountain County is bordered by  Tippecanoe County (northeast), Montgomery County (east), Parke County (south), Vermillion County (southwest), Warren County (northwest).

Fountain County Cities and Towns include  Attica, Covington, Veedersburg, Newtown, Mellott, Hillsboro,  Wallace, Kingman.

Fountain County Townships include  Cain, Richland, Shawnee, Troy,  Wabash, Davis, Fulton, Jackson, Logan, Millcreek and Van Buren. See Map of Fountain County Townships. has is a collection of old Indiana maps.

Fountain County, Indiana Courthouse Records

Fountain County, Indiana Courthouse
  • Save

Fountain County, IN Courthouse

The Fountain County Courthouse is located in Covington, Indiana. Learn More About State of Indiana Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Fountain county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Fountain County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1826, Probate Records from 1827 and Court Records from ?. The County Clerk responsiblities include administering Court Records of all Court Cases, prepares the Court's permanent historical record, performs marriage ceremonies, process marriage applications and issue marriage licenses, processes and distributes documents for court cases, and keeps a record of all wills and matters of trust in probate proceedings.
  • Fountain County Recorder has Land Records from 1827. The County Recorder maintains, preserves and Records Deeds, Mortgages, Assignments, Releases, Powers of Attorney, Real Estate Contracts, Annexations, Trustee Elections, Affidavits, Final Decrees, Surveys, Federal Tax Liens, Mechanics Liens, Military Discharges, Articles of Incorporation, Cemetery Deeds, Bonds, Plats, Condominiums, Firms Doing Business Under Assumed Names, Delinquent Sewer Liens, and Miscellaneous Instruments.
  • Fountain County Treasurer's Office is responsible for collecting taxes. The treasurer also receives distributions of local income and other taxes that are collected by the state such as real estate tax, personal property tax, mobile home tax, state assessed tax, and the following miscellaneous taxes: auto excise tax, inheritance tax, and innkeeper's tax.
  • Fountain County Department of Health has Birth & Death Records from 1882. The County Department of Health maintains and provides Certified Birth and Death Records.

Fountain County, Indiana Census Records

Fountain County, Indiana Vital Records

Fountain County, Indiana Resources

Fountain County, Indiana External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save