Vermillion County, Indiana Records

Vermillion County, Indiana (Map It) was created on January 2, 1824 from Parke County, Unorganized Land and Wabash New Purchase. Vermillion County was named for the Vermillion River.

Vermillion County is bordered by  Warren County (north), Fountain County (northeast), Parke County (east), Vigo County (south), Edgar County, Illinois (southwest), Vermilion County, Illinois (northwest).

Vermillion County Cities and Towns include  Cayuga, Clinton, Fairview Park , Dana, Newport, Perrysville, Universal.

Vermillion County Townships include  Clinton, Helt, Highland, Vermillion, Eugene. See Map of Vermillion County Townships. has is a collection of old Indiana maps.

Vermillion County, Indiana Courthouse Records

Vermillion County, Indiana Courthouse
  • Save

Vermillion County, IN Courthouse

The Vermillion County Courthouse is located in Newport, Indiana. Courthouse destroyed by Fire in Jan. 1844, and on January 5, 1866. At neither time were the records lost. Learn More About State of Indiana Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Vermillion county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Vermillion County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1824, Probate Records from ? and Court Records from ?. The County Clerk responsiblities include administering Court Records of all Court Cases, prepares the Court's permanent historical record, performs marriage ceremonies, process marriage applications and issue marriage licenses, processes and distributes documents for court cases, and keeps a record of all wills and matters of trust in probate proceedings.
  • Vermillion County Recorder has Land Records from ?. The County Recorder maintains, preserves and Records Deeds, Mortgages, Assignments, Releases, Powers of Attorney, Real Estate Contracts, Annexations, Trustee Elections, Affidavits, Final Decrees, Surveys, Federal Tax Liens, Mechanics Liens, Military Discharges, Articles of Incorporation, Cemetery Deeds, Bonds, Plats, Condominiums, Firms Doing Business Under Assumed Names, Delinquent Sewer Liens, and Miscellaneous Instruments.
  • Vermillion County Treasurer's Office is responsible for collecting taxes. The treasurer also receives distributions of local income and other taxes that are collected by the state such as real estate tax, personal property tax, mobile home tax, state assessed tax, and the following miscellaneous taxes: auto excise tax, inheritance tax, and innkeeper's tax.
  • Vermillion County Department of Health has Birth & Death Records from 1882. The County Department of Health maintains and provides Certified Birth and Death Records.

Vermillion County, Indiana Census Records

Vermillion County, Indiana Vital Records

Vermillion County, Indiana Resources

Vermillion County, Indiana External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save