Monroe County, West Virginia Records

Monroe County, West Virginia (Map It) was created on January 14, 1799 from portions of Greenbrier County. The county was named in honor of James Monroe (1758-1831), Governor of Virginia and U.S. President (1817–1825).

Monroe County is bordered by Greenbrier County (north), Alleghany County, Virginia (northeast), Craig County, Virginia (east), Giles County, Virginia (south), Mercer County (southwest), Summers County (west).

A Map of Monroe County, West Virginia contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Monroe County Cities and Towns include Alderson, Ballard, Bozoo, Gap Mills, Glace, Greenville, Lindside, Peterstown, Pickaway, Sarton, Secondcreek, Sinks Grove, Sweet Springs, Union, Waiteville, Wayside, Willow Bend, Wolfcreek

Monroe County, West Virginia Courthouse Records

Monroe County, West Virginia Courthouse
  • Save

Monroe County, WV Courthouse

The Monroe County Courthouse is located in Union, West Virginia. The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Monroe county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk. Until 1863 West Virginia was part of Virginia, See Virginia State Records for Info and links for years prior to 1863.

Monroe County, West Virginia Census Records

Monroe County, West Virginia Vital Records

Monroe County, West Virginia Resources

Monroe County, West Virginia External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save