Mercer County, West Virginia Records

Mercer County, West Virginia (Map It) was created on March 17, 1837 from portions of Giles County, Virginia and Tazewell County, Virginia (Virginia). The county was named in honor of Brigadier General Hugh Mercer (1725-1877) and American Revolutionary War general.

Mercer County is bordered by Raleigh County (north), Summers County (northeast), Giles County, Virginia (southeast), Bland County, Virginia (south), Tazewell County, Virginia (southwest), McDowell County (west), Wyoming County (northwest).

A Map of Mercer County, West Virginia contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Mercer County Cities and Towns include Athens, Beeson, Bluefield, Bluewell, Bramwell, Camp Creek, Coaldale, Dott, Duhring, Elgood, Flat Top, Freeman, Green Valley, Hiawatha, Kegley, Kellysville, Lashmeet, Lerona, Matoaka, McComas, Montcalm, Nemours, Oakvale, Princeton, Rock, Spanishburg, Wolfe

Mercer County, West Virginia Courthouse Records

Mercer County, West Virginia Courthouse
  • Save

Mercer County, WV Courthouse

The Mercer County Courthouse is located in Princeton, West Virginia. The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Mercer county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk. Until 1863 West Virginia was part of Virginia, See Virginia State Records for Info and links for years prior to 1863.

Mercer County, West Virginia Census Records

Mercer County, West Virginia Vital Records

Mercer County, West Virginia Resources

Mercer County, West Virginia External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save