Hancock County, Tennessee Records

Hancock County, Tennessee (Map It) was created on January 7, 1844 from Claiborne County and Hawkins County. This Hancock County was named in honor of President of the Continental Congress John Hancock (1737–1793).

Hancock County is bordered by Lee County, Virginia (north), Scott County, Virginia (northeast), Hawkins County (east), Grainger County (southwest) and Claiborne County (west) .

Hancock County Cities and Towns include Kyles Ford, Sneedville, Treadway .

A Map of Hancock County, Tennessee contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Hancock County, Tennessee Courthouse Records

Hancock County, Tennessee Courthouse
  • Save

Hancock County, TN Courthouse

The Hancock County Courthouse is located in Sneedville, Tennessee. The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Hancock county or in the Tennessee State Library & Archives. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

There were fires at the Hancock County courthouse in 1885 and 1930 most early records were destroyed.

Hancock County, Tennessee Census Records

Hancock County, Tennessee Vital Records

Hancock County, Tennessee Resources

Hancock County, Tennessee External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save