Taney County, Missouri Records

Taney County, Missouri (Map It) was created on January 6, 1837 from Greene County. The county was named in honor of Roger Brooke Taney (1777–1864), eleventh United States Attorney General and fifth Chief Justice of the United States.

Taney County is bordered by Christian County (north), Douglas County (northeast), Ozark County (east), Marion County, Arkansas (southeast), Boone County, Arkansas (south), Carroll County, Arkansas (southwest), Stone County (west).

Taney County Cities and Towns include Bradleyville, Branson, Brownbranch, Bull Creek, Cedar Creek, Forsyth, Hilda, Hollister, Kirbyville, Kissee Mills, McClurg, Merriam Woods, Point Lookout, Powersite, Protem, Ridgedale, Rockaway Beach, Rueter, Saddlebrooke, Table Rock, Taneyville, Walnut Shade.

A Map of Taney County, Missouri contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Taney County, Missouri Courthouse Records

Taney County, Missouri Courthouse
  • Save

Taney County, MO Courthouse

The Taney County Courthouse is located in Forsyth, Missouri. The courthouse was burned in 1863 by Union troops trying to keep the fortress out of the hands of Confederates. Fire destroyed the courthouse and most records December 19, 1885. The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Taney county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

Taney County, Missouri Census Records

Taney County, Missouri Vital Records

Taney County, Missouri Resources

Taney County, Missouri External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save