Douglas County, Missouri Records

Douglas County, Missouri (Map It) was created on October 29, 1857 from Ozark County. The county was named in honor of Stephen A. Douglas (1813-1861), American Senator from Illinois, and the Democratic nominee for President in 1860.

Douglas County is bordered by Webster County (northwest), Wright County (north), Texas County (northeast), Howell County (east), Ozark County (south), Taney County (southwest), Christian County (west).

Douglas County Cities and Towns include Ava, Brushyknob, Drury, Fordland, Gentryville, Smallett, Squires, Vanzant.

A Map of Douglas County, Missouri contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Douglas County, Missouri Courthouse Records

Douglas County, Missouri Courthouse
  • Save

Douglas County, MO Courthouse

The Douglas County Courthouse is located in Ava, Missouri. The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Douglas county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

Vandals burned the Militia Springs courthouse, destroying many records in July 1872. On April 26, 1886 the store building used for courthouse purposes was destroyed by fire, and again all records were destroyed.

Douglas County, Missouri Census Records

Douglas County, Missouri Vital Records

Douglas County, Missouri Resources

Douglas County, Missouri External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save