Howell County, Missouri Records

Howell County, Missouri (Map It) was created on March 2, 1857 from Oregon County. The county was named for the Howell Valley, where James Howell made first settlement.

Howell County is bordered by Texas County (north), Shannon County (northeast), Oregon County (east), Fulton County, Arkansas (south), Ozark County (southwest), Douglas County (northwest).

Howell County Cities and Towns include Brandsville, Caulfield, Hocomo, Lanton, Moody, Mountain View, Peace Valley, Pomona, Pottersville, Siloam Springs, South Fork, West Plains, Willow Springs.

A Map of Howell County, Missouri contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Howell County, Missouri Courthouse Records

Howell County, Missouri Courthouse
  • Save

Howell County, MO Courthouse

The Howell County Courthouse is located in West Plains, Missouri. The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Howell county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

In the fall of 1863, guerrillas burned West Plains and the Courthouse. Most records were destroyed. The county reorganized in 1866.

Howell County, Missouri Census Records

Howell County, Missouri Vital Records

Howell County, Missouri Resources

Howell County, Missouri External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save